1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

WHERE DID YOU GO? LEAVING TEACHING..

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by amelia55, Oct 9, 2018.

1. amelia55

amelia55 New commenter

Hello,

I have just found a TES forum from last September from someone asking if anyone had regretted leaving teaching. I think without reading it you could possibly assume what most of the answers said...

I am a twenty-something teacher already feeling lost, confused and frustrated and reading that forum gave me a glimmer of hope that despite the sadness I feel at the prospect of leaving teaching, it might be what I already feel will be the best for me.

My question is though - Have you or someone you know left teaching? Without asking for too much personal information I am interested and intrigued to know what direction others took. I'll admit, I am also hoping this will help the confusion I feel at leaving this job, but having spent all of my adult working life in education there is a big world of work and profession I know nothing about. Ultimately I would love to find some inspiration, some ideas to read into and even just some solace from others who have moved on and know they are better for it.

Many thanks everyone

pleasemiss__ likes this.
  2. MsPoppins

MsPoppins New commenter

I resigned in March before even finding a new job because I knew it was the right thing for me. I found a part time job starting September so had no break in service but it was a risk. No more Sunday afternoon dread or sleepless nights.

3. jago123

jago123 Established commenter