1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Where can I get a good microscope from, for a good price?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by thedancingqueen, Jan 25, 2011.

1. I'm a trainee and am willing to buy a fairly cheap microscope with my own money, so that I can look closely at the parts of plants on placement. I know my placement class fairly well now and have a feeling that it will be really effective. The school doesn't have one. I don't buy many resources but when I think it'll improve my teaching and benefit the kids, I have no problem with spending a bit of money now and again, especially when my lessons are being observed by the head and deputy head regularly. I'm not teaching the topic until after easter however I want to be prepared and get one asap. I want a microscope which is less than £40 even though I know the quality may be compromised. I want it to be less than that if possible but still decent/reasonable quality. I want a microscope which will plug into my laptop. Can be hand held. I want the image to be projected on the board so children can get a good look. They'll be dissecting flowers themselves too.

People sometimes say that trainees shouldn't buy resources. I normally use what the school has but this school has little science equipment. If anyone can help, I'd really appreciate it! Thanks!

2. wellingtonboot

wellingtonboot New commenter

Before you go spending your money, has the school got a video camera which you could use just as effectively?