1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Where am I going wrong???

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by simstutoring, Apr 10, 2012.

1. It is a slower time of year for starting with new students, as said above. The rate you charge should depend on your qualifications and experience. £25 an hour is not too high if you are qualified teacher with experience, but it is if you are completely new to tutoring. If you charge too little, it might lead to a lack of confidence from the parents of your tutees, as they might see you as a 'novice', which i'm sure you're not!

2. Thanks - I really appreciate your replies. I am a very experienced Teacher but I appreciate the comments you made about needing to get 5* feedback on the website. I think I'll lower my rate to £19 an hour for a short while to see whether that makes any difference.

3. DonutBoy99

DonutBoy99 New commenter

Why not a round £20? Save messing with change...

4. bananamoore

bananamoore New commenter

Just be aware it might not be as straightforward as you think to increase your rates. I got one of my first students through first tutors and since then, I've had 8 students gained via word of mouth through this particular student. If you charge the first person £19 and then expect to raise your fee to £25, you may encounter some resistance. Also, each of the further students you gain may refer you on to others. At what point would you decide to increase the fee?

I just held tight and stuck with my original plan to charge £25. It took a bit of time to get started, but has saved any trouble in the long run.

Just a thought.....

5. You could always do an 'Introductory Offer'? Maybe a free or half price first lesson?