1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

When you feel like you've 'lost' the class.

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by countrybumpkin, Nov 24, 2015.

1. countrybumpkin

countrybumpkin New commenter

I teach lower ks2. I feel like I've 'lost' the class. The behaviour is appalling and their don't care attitude is effecting everything they do. I don't know where to go from here. They feel out of control and my blood pressure and stress levels are sky rocketing. Help! The majority one from difficult backgrounds. They don't gel as a class. I'm an experienced teacher but if I'm honest behaviour management is something I find hard with difficult classes. My last few classes were great. I'm shattered. My head is aware that things aren't great at the moment but I'm reluctant to admit defeat as I'm experienced and dont want her to worry that I can't cope.

2. Calamity54321

Calamity54321 New commenter

Can you give any specific areas you might target as a priority?

I've finally brought my nightmare class round to a reasonably normal group. The three areas I targeted were coming in from the playground, moving around school and disruptive behaviour during teacher input.

3. countrybumpkin

I would say target areas are:

1. Completely ignoring what I'm saying e.g. tidy up.
    2. Being unkind to each other. A lack of friendships in the class. This includes them physically hurting each other too often.
    3. A lack of concentration during tasks. Completely off task winding each other up or having a chat.
    4. Manic home times: giving out books, letters etc, lining up shouting. Pushing and shoving when lining up to go.

4. countrybumpkin

And listening on the carpet.

5. scienceteachasghost