1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

When "waiting for quiet" doesn't work...

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by helenemdee, Mar 18, 2012.

1. helenemdee

helenemdee Occasional commenter

Hi

I'm a primary supply teacher. I've been on supply about 14 months and in that time have managed to keep myself pretty busy, working for 3 different agencies and have taught every year group from R to Year 6. I really like being on supply due to its flexibility and the fact that I can go home at the end of the day and not have to spend hours planning and marking, which leaves me free to get on with the other things in my life (it's a shame I'm an NQT and thus have limited shelf life for supply work at present). Behaviour is often a problem, although I still seem to get good feedback from the schools I go to (maybe they think I do a good job in other areas so they overlook behaviour problems to an extent, or perhaps they're aware that children usually attempt to take advantage when a supply teacher is in, especially when there is no TA). I've never considered myself particularly good at managing behaviour (I left my first and second long-term positions because of poor behaviour management and have been largely on day-to-day since) and have read up endlessly on tips to improve. One thing I'm noticing is that, for me, the "waiting for silence" approach - the standing, looking bored, tapping foot, looking out of the window, looking at my watch, sighing loudly doesn't seem to work with getting and keeping children's attention. Although some will listen and sit up etc, others often chat on regardless. The "stare" seems to work for individuals and small groups, but as soon as I tuen the "stare" on another p