1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

When to start maternity leave

Discussion in 'Pregnancy' started by EulersTheorem, Feb 3, 2011.

1. Please help me!
    I am very stuck on when to take maternity leave. I'm a secondary school teacher. I am due the 9th July, but we break up on the 6th July. This is my first baby, so obviously have no idea what i will feel like come July!
    My dilemma is that towards the end of term, teaching starts to dwindle and we do more investigations which is less teacher led, hence i can rest. I will also lose three exam classes, so my timetable will significantly reduce. I feel that i would rather be busy at school feeling fat at hot, than to be at home, worrying about the birth, being a mum, and being fat and hot. There is also the case, that I am planning on only taking 5 months maternity leave (the last month being a tight squeeze on money) and would rather all that time be spent with my baby, than before hand with me resting - I'm not very good at resting.
    I will also say good bye to my form, who i have had for 2 years (we do a two year rota).
    Do you think staying until the end of time will be ok? there are so many things keeping me at school.
    I welcome any true and honest advice please
    Thank you [​IMG]

2. Please help me!
    I am very stuck on when to take maternity leave. I'm a secondary school teacher. I am due the 9th July, but we break up on the 6th July. This is my first baby, so obviously have no idea what i will feel like come July!