1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

When is the right time to conceive as a teacher?

Discussion in 'Pregnancy' started by looloo38, Jan 13, 2011.

1. looloo38

looloo38 New commenter

Hi all
    This is my first time using the message boards i'm hoping you can all help me on this topic. I have been researching maternity leave for teachers and i am so confused by everyones comments. I thought that if i tell you my situation then maybe someone could help.

I am an NQT and due to finish my first year in July. I think i am being taken on permanently by my school in September. I have been told that Jan is the best time to conceive (in my case Jan 2011) and to go on hols as normal in summer, give birth in Sept, take the school year (9 months off which i think i am entitled to) and then have the summer again off - all paid? But i have read other peoples posts saying things about not accruing enough sick pay etc (this might be US posts though) i didn't think sick days had anything to do with maternity?

Obviously falling pregnant on an exact month is a challenge/luck so what i would also like to know is - if you give birth BEFORE the summer holidays say June/July would your maternity start then or would you be entitled to the summer first then your official maternity starting in the Sept?

Sorry i sound very confused but i don't know who else to ask - only those with experience of it happening.
    I also had the worry that my contract may not be made permanent and i'll be put on a fixed term again- if this happens they could end my job whilst on maternity - is this a possibility? I doubt very much the school would keep me on knowing i'd be off for another year?

Please help
    xx

2. looloo38