1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

When is it time to move on?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by MrsMusgrove, Aug 20, 2018.

1. MrsMusgrove

MrsMusgrove New commenter

Hi
    I work in a school that is a great place to work. I’ve been there since I qualified 15 years ago. I am SLT and have tlr for a core subject and a key stage. I’m also a full time class teacher. I get very little, if any, management release time and I’m frustrated by this because I don’t have time to make impact in my areas of responsibility, and trying to lead whilst having a full time class is taking its toll on me - my mental health and well being.
    However, I love the school and am proud to be part of it.
    But I am dreading going back knowing the extent of my workload.
    Is it time to move on? Should I look for DHT posts? What would others do in this situation? I wonder if it is the norm to get like this in middle management??

2. Sillow

Sillow Lead commenter

Middle management is the worst; full-time class responsibility but also major responsibilities elsewhere and little time. I have exactly the same responsibilities as you and a couple of hours out every week, it is never enough time but somehow getting everything done is expected and you're also supposed to be leading by example!