1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

When is it acceptable to ask about wages

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by sami_jones, Feb 3, 2012.

1. Dear Theo,

I am a secondary teacher and thinking about applying for a job at a state school. Nowhere in the job application or person spec does it say anything about what the wages are.

What is the etiquette on asking about wages?

Kind regards

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Theo is of course the expert, but as far as I'm aware, if it's an LA school, National Pay Scale is enforced. However if it's an academy (or Independant) then I believe it's slightly different and they set their own rates and scale.
    So presumably whatever your current scale rate is. (You usually have to give your current pay scale on the application form, so they know in advance what you'll cost), so the question probably won't need to be addressed.

3. modgepodge

modgepodge Occasional commenter

I'm wondering from the first post if the poster is perhaps already employed in an independent school and looking to switch....in which case in theory they could be started on M1 (if they've never worked in a state school before), even if they've got many years of teaching experience. In which case they'd definitely want to bring this up before accepting a job! I'd suggest you wait until you are offered it, then BEFORE you accept, ask about pay.

4. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Good point modgepodge as their criterion are different.