1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

When is a governor not a governor?

Discussion in 'Governors' started by netherhead, Mar 15, 2020.

1. netherhead

netherhead New commenter

Our chair recently "co-opted" a member of the school staff as a governor alongside the existing staff governor.
    No vote was ever held at any meeting and there is no record in any minutes.
    Is this person legally a governor?

2. Skeoch

Skeoch Star commenter

I'm not an expert. However the Chair can invite anyone to attend the meeting to observe or advise, even if the person isn't a governor; but they wouldn't have a vote.
    Question for you: what does your Instrument of Governance say? And under what provision of that has this person been brought in?

3. netherhead

netherhead New commenter

The person was brought into a committee meeting and the chair introduced them as a newly co-opted governor.
    They are now shown on the school website as a member of the governing board with a term of office. There has never been any discussion nor voting in any governors meeting about this person's co-option and there is nothing recorded in the minutes.
    They are voting at meetings and the chair asked them to sit on an appeals panel. I pointed out that this was not permitted as school staff should not sit in judgement of other staff.
    Nobody on the GB other than the chair has ever seen the Instrument of Governance However I will ask for a copy.

4. netherhead

netherhead New commenter