1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

When can I start to buy childcare vouchers??

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by BellisP, Jun 7, 2011.

1. Hi,

I'm a primary school teacher and started my mat leave on 3rd May and I'm planning on returning to work at the end of Jan 2012 (so, having 9 months off).

I'd really like to start to buy childcare vouchers so that I can make tax savings but I'm so confused about when I should get this set up. I have spoken to payroll and computershare voucher services (who I'd have to but the vouchers with) and feel non the wiser!

It seems that I could set things up so that I start to get them taken out of my salary once I return to work, or, I could get it set up straight away but I get the impression that I would not be entitled to my full maternity pay...

If anyone could give me some advice or tell me what you're doing I'd be extremely greatful!

Many thanks,

BellisP xx

2. Hi,

I'm a primary school teacher and started my mat leave on 3rd May and I'm planning on returning to work at the end of Jan 2012 (so, having 9 months off).

I'd really like to start to buy childcare vouchers so that I can make tax savings but I'm so confused about when I should get this set up. I have spoken to payroll and computershare voucher services (who I'd have to but the vouchers with) and feel non the wiser!

It seems that I could set things up so that I start to get them taken out of my salary once I return to work, or, I could get it set up straight away but I get the impression that I would not be entitled to my full maternity pay...

If anyone could give me some advice or tell me what you're doing I'd be extremely greatful!

Many thanks,

BellisP xx

3. atwoodfan