1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Whatever to do...Spain versus South Korea

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Bubblegum98, Mar 22, 2011.

1. I am relatively new to this international teaching business so hoping there are some wise-minded people out there who can offer some insight.
    I've been spending a disproportionate amount of my weekend over the last month or so doing job applications and have got two interviews coming up on the same weekend! The first one I got I will definitely go to, flights to are already booked. It's for a job at a Catholic school in Madrid, not paid very well but in Madrid, city life, lovely food and wine, practise a bit of Spanish, close to family and friends in England. Lovely.
    The second interview I have just found out about today. It is for a job is on the island of Jeju off the coast of South Korea, a new shiny school, lots of new colleagues, everyone in the same boat, exciting far flung place and reasonably well paid, I would assume, so I could do something about my worrying lack of a pension. Great travel options for SE Asia. Interview is in London (on April Fool's Day - significant?). Also I think it's for a three year contract? Not sure about how easy it would be to leave before the end of three years?
    The question is really, whether or not I should go for the second interview. Is two interviews in separate locations a good idea? London on Friday and Madrid on Monday. Plus this would mean asking my current head for another day off work. And does anyone have any info, however small, on either of these locations or schools if you know them to help me make my mind up?
    Thank you!