1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What would you do?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by pink_reindeer, Nov 13, 2018.

1. pink_reindeer

pink_reindeer Occasional commenter

This is not a massive problem at all (it's barely even a problem) and it'll work out somehow or another. Just interested to know what other people may do in my situation.

I am a secondary teacher. I taught abroad last year and since returning, I have been questioning whether I even want to teach, hence doing some supply work while I try to decide. My Dad is upset at the thought of my leaving the profession as he thinks I'm a really good teacher (obviously, he has no idea - he's just being a Dad!!). He (and a few others) has suggested primary instead of secondary to see if I'd prefer that. I've been teaching since 2004 by the way.

I'm registered with three agencies. I am booked with one next Wednesday, in a primary school. It's close to the city so driving there will be stressful because stuck in traffic etc. I don't know which year group it'll be.
    Another has just messaged me to say that a secondary school (that I'm in today) has asked for me to work next Wednesday. I like that they've asked specifically for me, so I sort of don't want to say no, but obviously I'm already booked. The secondary school is a 10 minute drive from home, I don't hit traffic - it's easy. This agency pays a little more than the one that has me booked for primary next week.

Any thoughts?

2. pink_reindeer

Oh, and also, I am getting far more work with agency number 2. So I don't want to turn something down and make them think twice about contacting me. Although, they know I'm already booked.

3. ellenlilymay