1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What would you do . . . ? (Exam board regulations not being followed by dept member)

Discussion in 'Heads of department' started by Ennazus23, Mar 14, 2013.

1. I'm in the rather awkward position of having started as HOD in a new school in January. I'm obviously nearing the point now of getting year 11 controlled assessments ready for sending off to the exam board, but I've just today found out that the assessments that two of the classes have done prior to me starting were done against exam board regulations (i.e. they just copied up their drafts neatly rather than learning them and they read their presentations out for speaking assessments - I'm an MFL teacher). The class I inherited from my predecessor hadn't done any assessments at all before Christmas, so I've worked them really hard to get them up to date and everything they've done is above board. However, there is another teacher in my department who is responsible for the other 2 year 11 groups. I found out just today that her class hasn't been doing any of their assessments properly. My class had alluded to this in January when they told me it wasn't fair they were having to learn their speaking presentations when the other group were allowed to read them, so I spoke to the teacher concerned back then and she told me this wasn't the case. Obviously I had to take her word for it as I wasn't there to witness the assessments being done. However, it's come to light today that it is. We now have almost no time to get all of these students doing a new set of controlled assessments as they need to do 2 writings and 2 speakings, all of which take a great deal of time to prepare. Also, all their writin