1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What will you be doing over the summer holidays?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by amykins959, Jun 26, 2012.

1. amykins959

amykins959 New commenter

Hi everyone
    I have been a secondary food tech supply teacher in Birmingham for 2 years now and my husband gets frustrated when I am not working over the summer holidays. I generally stay at home and do as little as possible to preseve money.
    Earlier this year I applied to work for a summer camp teaching food. They emailed me saying I was going to have a phone interview over half term. I was moderating over the half term and was in so didn't have my mobile on. For some reason I received no call so I am thinking, no job. I left a message with this company yesterday and will phone them again today - no doubt I have left it too long to get back to them.
    My husband isn't in to beach holidays so we tend to go on holiday in October or December. We have no kids.
    I am interested in what YOU do over the holidays and have any ideas for me and others.

2. I up my hours working at the museum to four day a week. Some bar work at festivals. I have two weeks excavating which is brillant as I am far too removed from practical archaeology this year. I will be scuba diving (doesn't cost much off the beach with friends - a bit of petrol and £3.50 for an airfil), going for walks (with the lodger's dog and she pays me), reading for my PhD as trying to get the literature review finished and writing a paper for presentation in December and publication next year.