1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What value added makes a department outstanding?

Discussion in 'Heads of department' started by almostafish, Nov 17, 2017.

1. almostafish

almostafish New commenter

Hi,
    I work in a school whose value added was -0.25 last year which was obviously disappointing. Over the year there were problems within the department (Staff leaving with stress, being asked to enter weaker students for double science (Starting the course in December of year 11) and my department achieved a value added of +0.25. In my performance management I have been told that the department isn't outstanding yet. How else would you ultimately judge the department? The marking scrutinies always return positive results, as do the learning walks and lesson observations.

2. muso2

muso2 Occasional commenter Community helper

Sounds like you've made a good start. Id suggest having a look at the Ofsted subject-specific criteria for your subject, to give you more ideas. There will be things including curriculum, participation, etc.

3. CandysDog

CandysDog Occasional commenter

As muso2 says, rating a department is about much more than results. Even within results, everything is subjective. I know of a school whose results are in the top 50% of the country for progress but had its outcomes rated as ‘inadequate’ by Ofsted because – apparently – students underachieve based on their starting points .