1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What to research in Instrumental one-to-one lessons?

Discussion in 'Music' started by josax01, Aug 10, 2011.

1. Hi, I'm a PGCE student focusing on secondary education. I'm really stuck on what to submit as my research topic though, as I want to base my research on my instrumental one-to-one teaching (woodwind - mainly flute and saxophone) but not really sure what I could discuss/research and look out for in my lessons. Any ideas would be really appreciated! Thanks, Jo x

2. Hi, I'm a PGCE student focusing on secondary education. I'm really stuck on what to submit as my research topic though, as I want to base my research on my instrumental one-to-one teaching (woodwind - mainly flute and saxophone) but not really sure what I could discuss/research and look out for in my lessons. Any ideas would be really appreciated! Thanks, Jo x

3. YesMrBronson

YesMrBronson New commenter

What ideas have you had so far? If you post these first you will probably get more help.

4. Current "hot" topics in education are:
    • assessment and monitoring progress
    • planning for different abilities and special needs
    • use of different learning styles
    • demonstrating "musical understanding"
    • Development of non-examined skills such as improvising, musical understanding, harmonisation, transposition, composition and memorisation within the context of instrumental lessons