1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What to look for in a school for NQT Year?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by charlieramsden, Jan 16, 2012.

1. Hi,

I'm currently studying on my PGCE course and starting to look for jobs for my NQT year starting in Sept. I'm not applying locally as I'm moving to live with my partner in another city, because of this I won't have much information about the schools I'm applying to (other than an Ofsted report, a visit to the school and maybe a school website). What criteria should I be looking for in the school, to know I can have a successful and happy NQT year?
    Any advice will be much appreciated!

Thanks!

2. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter

A job would be nice!

To be honest, everyone will be looking for something different in a school, you need to find the school that suits you and feels right to you, Given the scarcity of primary jobs, anything more would be a bonus!

3. I would apply for every job going, and just see how you feel after a look around.
    Generally, as long as you feel like the staff are friendly and supportive, I think this is the most important thing.
    Dont take too much notice of Ofsted reports - Infact, as an NQT id be tempted to steer clear of Outstanding schools as I dont think i'd want to be under that much pressure in my first year of teaching.
    But a jobs a job and if you are lucky enough to be offered one, i'd take it. If you then dont feel its the right school you know you only have to stick it out for a year and then can start looking for a new role.

4. Thanks for your advice! Much appreciated!