1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What to feed the birds?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by modelmaker, Feb 5, 2012.

1. modelmaker

modelmaker Occasional commenter

My sweetheart is concerned about the welfare of the birds now the garden is covered in snow. She finished up the packet of bird food she puts out for them this morning and is now resorting to bread.
    I'm not a bird expert, and neither is she, but I vaugely remember reading somewhere that bread isn't very good for birds in cold weather, but to give them lard instead. Looking through the pantry, I see we have things such as lentils and dried fruit. Will they eat this sort of thing?

2. They love dried fruit. Nuts, seeds, cheese, fresh fruit, lard...

3. I put out crushed weetabix and Ryvita, and a few sesame and pumpkin seeds. I don't know if that's right? I worry that dry stuff might swell up in their tummies.

4. bedingfield

bedingfield New commenter

I put out chopped apple for them. Stale bread rather than fresh is best for them as it is drier and less stodgy in their tummies.

5. Mangleworzle

Mangleworzle Star commenter

Slab of lard from the supermarket, melt it in a pan, once melted empty in value porridge oats/weetabix etc. pour into take-away carton and leave to set. I also buy the odd reduced loaf or two for them at the supermarket, 10-20p sometimes.
    Our left-overs go: us - dog - birdtable - compost heap
    Depending on quality and what it is. Though the dog will often scavenge stuff that drops off the bird table that she has already turned her nose up at in her bowl. Found food is always the most prized.

6. modelmaker

modelmaker Occasional commenter