1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What to expect with Ofsted?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Bonnie23, Feb 5, 2017.

1. Bonnie23

Bonnie23 Occasional commenter

Hi,

The school hasn't had the call yet, but they've been in the area and we are one of the only ones left (not going to name the school for obvious reasons).

I've never had an Ofsted before, I'm a fairly new teacher (3 years). There's a lot of pressure on our school to get outstanding, they got good last time.

I just want to know what to expect.

The people around me are in such a panic and it's making me very anxious, loss of appetite, lack of sleep, etc which means if they do walk through the door I'm going to be exhausted before they start. I feel like there's so much pressure to have everything perfect.

I personally think the school is amazing, strong leadership etc.

I have never known such panic over some people walking into a school.

Any advice, insight, whatever you want to call it, would be fantastic.

Thank you!

2. petaloutha

petaloutha Lead commenter

Keep calm and go about your business in the way that you usually do and make sure you know why you are doing what you are doing. The Ofsted team are only people. They are no more important than you are. They might think they are but you have to realise that they aren't. All this fear and panic is nonsense. Don't buy into it.

3. zuba102

zuba102 New commenter