1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What to do?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by banks1903, Aug 22, 2020.

1. banks1903

banks1903 New commenter

Hi,

I have just completed my NQT year (Secondary MFL) and it’s been the year from hell. Without getting too much into it - unrealistically high expectations from my faculty, a very difficult timetable (lots of low motivation and low sets) - i quit my job in March and sought to leave teaching forever.

Then along came Covid-19 and my head teacher offered me position as a Humanities teacher (I have no Hums background) in order to keep me - and flattery and fear made me say yes to this, and I was initially relieved and happy to have been kept on.

However, the more I think about returning to school in September and the more I think about fulfilling the role of Hums teacher, the more anxious and depressed and upset I feel.

I am currently dealing with an alcohol problem which was taking hold before Covid-19 lockdown and which is now affecting me a great deal. Coupled with anxiety and depression, for which I am medicated and seeking help, I am experiencing suicidal thoughts and a huge sense of dread at ever entering the classroom again.

What do I do? Going back to school seems like it’s going to be such a challenge for me that I’m honestly not sure I’ll live to see Christmas if these feelings continue. Yet, it feels like I’m letting everyone (family, friends, colleagues) if I do anything except go back to school.

I want to go back to feeling normal but I’m not sure teaching will ever be compatible with my disposition.