1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What to do...

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by lemsmith, Jan 11, 2016.

1. lemsmith

lemsmith New commenter

I have been reading other posts on here and everyone seems so helpful. Here is my dilemma.

I have been teaching for 4 years at one school where i was considered a good/outstanding teacher. This school was reasonable enough - fantastic staff and the majority of the students were well behaved and focused. However increasing pressures on workload and expectations.

For these reasons and personal circumstances which is seeing my other half's business moving further away, I made the decision to move school after Christmas. The school appeared fantastic and i had heard positive things about it. However it has not necessarily lived up to this expectation. The students behaviour is a problem and i am finding most lessons a constant battle. Don't get me wrong i knew it would be tough moving part way through the year but i am coming home most days upset, wondering what i have done. I have spoken with HOD and they say to just be really thorough with the policy. I am trying but the majority of students just won't listen and simply not bothered. Staff have said the behaviour is at the worst it has been. They are being supportive but i think if anyone came to see me i would be straight into competency. I am not sure if i can stick this and am thinking i have deluded myself all this time, that i was any good at this job.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. wanet

wanet Star commenter

It is always hard moving to a new school. It will get easier, but plan to make it so!

3. scienceteachasghost

scienceteachasghost Lead commenter