1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What to do with the 'No' word

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by rlc81295, Nov 9, 2019.

1. rlc81295

rlc81295 New commenter

Hi all,

I'm a student teacher currently on my first placement, and I'm finding behaviour management particularly difficult. Mainly in terms of distracting students, and them saying 'no' when I ask them to move seats. Even after asking them multiple times they say 'no' so I ask them to leave the class and they still say 'no'. It's frustrating because then my overall progress in the lesson is compromised because I'm spending way too long trying to deal with disruptive students. Particularly one class where a group of boys were constantly talking throughout the lesson I asked several different pupils on the tables to move and was constantly met with 'no' and laughter same answer for asking them to leave the classroom. If it was one pupil I might be better but there was 6 pupils all causing trouble, and I can't send them all out at the same time and my department only has room for 1 faculty exclusion. Eventually I managed to get one pupil to move, however they then just shouted across the classroom back to the table whilst the other pupils on the table carried on talking, which made me think that even if I did mange to move all the pupils they would still use be shouting across the room, causing even more disruption. Anybody have any suggestions?

Many Thanks

2. Tinyreader

Tinyreader New commenter

You say you are a student teacher. A few years ago this would have meant that the normal class teacher would be in the room with you, but this isn’t always the case now!