1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What to do with fennel?

Discussion in 'Cookery' started by Waterfin, Aug 20, 2011.

1. That's it really - just bought 2 heads (if that is the right term for it) of fennel at Morrisons because it was reduced and I have never tried it before.
    I could go to my trusty Delia basics cookery book, but thought I'd ask here first.

Thanks in advance.

2. FrauSue

FrauSue New commenter

Carrot and fennel soup.
    It's also very nice steamed and served with fish - just pop the fennel in the base of an oven tray with a little liquid, a bit of lemon juice, pop the fish on top, cover with foil and bake.

3. bombaysapphire

bombaysapphire Star commenter

Simon Hopkinson did a beautiful looking recipe with fennel on The Good Cook last week. You should be able to Google it. It was a parmesan and vermouth sauce over slow cooked fennel.
    I usually brown it and then finish it off in the oven with a piece of fish on top for the last 10-20 mins.

4. egyptgirl

egyptgirl Senior commenter

I love fennel.
    It goes really well with pork and fish.
    I love slowroasting it alongside shoulder of pork or I sometimes put it into a gratin. It also goes great in coleslaw.

5. modelmaker

modelmaker Occasional commenter

I do too. My wife dislikes it though, so we rarely buy it. I agree, it's very nice with a slow roast pork shoulder.

6. I finally got around to using it. Tried it raw. My daughter and I found the aniseed flavour really amusing in something savoury. She kept going to her sister and trying to get her to try it "because it tastes like those blue and pink sweets in liquorice allsorts."
    I made a large tray of mixed roast veg and included the fennel in it. It was nice.