1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What to do when you have trained for the wrong career

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by lilac25, Aug 10, 2014.

1. lilac25

lilac25 New commenter

Hi

Not sure this is the right place to post this, wasn't sure where else to post it.

Basically I was a nursery nurse for 7 years, ta for a year then did an early years pgce. Whilst there were parts of the pgce I enjoyed, I mostly disliked it. I couldn't get to grips with how to teach, and didn't like the way teaching took over my whole life. After the course I went back to being a ta, which I am still doing, but now I feel stuck in a rut.

I am not really managing financially on the ta wage, so need to reconsider my options. I have looked at returning to nurseries, but do feel it's a bit 'been there, done that'. I wanted to teach because I wanted to help children, especially those who find learning difficult. I am certain I want to work with children in some way, but am totally stuck for ideas as to what to do. What do you turn to when the job you have trained for does not work out in the way you thought it would. Perhaps I am being too fussy, after all a job is a job.

Has anyone had a similar experience and can offer ideas? Has anyone found teaching is not for them, and whilst they don't want to teach, still have the desire to help children in some way.

Apologies if this is a bit rambling, but I am driving myself (and others around me) crazy! Any help is appreciated

2. Ruthie66

Ruthie66 New commenter