1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What to do next??? I need advice :(

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by sjakeman, Oct 9, 2015.

1. sjakeman

sjakeman New commenter

I started on the Graduate teaching Programme in 2006, taught Music in Secondary for two full years, didnt finish the final term of GTP as I was assaulted by a student and was off work. I have a BA (Open) subject studied Music, I gained a PGCE - In Service, QTLS. I have been a lecturer and course co-ordinator in FE 16+ for the last 5 years, Access to HE, lecture in Human Anatomy & Physiology. The problem is there is no progression in FE waiting for dead mans shoes, I am bored and uninspired. I have been considering returning to Secondary, so that I can move into management (I am 46), I am a Member Institute of Management and a FHEA, I have management experience in education and industry as I was a Business Analyst in my previous life prior to teaching. I am currently studying for MEd, just have dissertation to do to complete but I am lacking motivation because I feel stuck, I am also doing TEFL Diploma to give me the option of just going abroad, although I feel I have worked so hard to become the professional I am, my OTLA is consistently graded as Outstanding. But what to do?

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

The BIG question: do you have QTS or QTLS?

3. sjakeman

sjakeman New commenter

I have QTLS

4. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Yes, I now see that you said that earlier! Sorry, I missed that in the dense paragraph.

So at least you are qualified to teach in Secondary. If you are asked on an application form Do you have QTS, you should tick Yes , as QTLS now = QTS. That's one problem over. Good!