1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What to do for the best?

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by Bur79, Nov 26, 2014.

1. Bur79

Bur79 New commenter

Hi, this is my first time posting so please be gentle lol. I went to see my gp at half term as i was feeling low, tearful, anxious etc and she prescribed me Citalopram which has helped slightly but still feeling really low and very anxious at work re obs, deadlines etc. I haven't spoken to anyone at work about this although I did have a little melt down following a recent observation (which went well but just found it hard work). I am scared they will think I've been faking it and/or think I'm not coping well. My issues are a mixture of home and work related, i have had several bereavements in the past 2 years and a major relationship breakdown 4 years ago which i have never really dealt properly with any of these issues. We are due OFSTED soon following HMI for the past 18months as the school was in special measures. I joined the school last year and part of my role/responsibility was to deal with one of the key issues from the inadequate OFSTED. I feel that I don't want to work there any more and would like to change career etc but I feel like I can't do anything until OFSTED have been and gone as that would leave the school is the **** and I would have to work until Easter now with everyone hating me. My main worry is making it to and through the OFSTED,, and I know I'm not performing at my best and like I'm letting the school down by staying. I am not off sick and gp hasn't made any suggestion of signing me off, although I feel like I am struggling. Would anyone offer me some advice? Should i tell my HT/colleagues? should i s