1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

what time do I stop hoping for a day of work?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by japonicabean, Feb 8, 2012.

1. I am very new to supply have had half a day pre booked so far and I am not complaining at all. But was just wondering what time I give up hoping for some work? I am down to do day to day supply and don't really know what to expect. I have been teaching for 5 years and have moved from full time work to supply as I just needed a bit of a break. Not worried about how much work I get just don't want to miss any that is offered.

Thank you for your advice
    JB

2. I am very new to supply have had half a day pre booked so far and I am not complaining at all. But was just wondering what time I give up hoping for some work? I am down to do day to day supply and don't really know what to expect. I have been teaching for 5 years and have moved from full time work to supply as I just needed a bit of a break. Not worried about how much work I get just don't want to miss any that is offered.

Thank you for your advice
    JB

3. craigblade

craigblade New commenter

I usually get up around 7.30 , have my breakfast and a cuppa then sit around untill around 9.30, then if there is no call i take myself off to the gym!!! Do not let it rule your life , try to be independant of it , if possible.
    One thing i would say though , as i have found , is preperation is the key. The last thing you want when you have 5mins to get out the house is to start finding , cleaning and ironing clothes!!!
    And as a PE teacher , that also takes classroom work , my bedroom side is a pile of different clothes in the mornings!!