1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What Should I Charge?

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by baxterbasics, Jul 12, 2020.

1. baxterbasics

baxterbasics Senior commenter

I normally work as a full time supply teacher, but during lockdown I did quite a lot of Zoom lessons for pupils who could not go to school.

One parent wants these lessons to possibly continue into the summer holidays and perhaps beyond.

The school says this is perfectly fine in terms of safeguarding (ie, the issue of can you teach an ex-pupil).

I'm quite new to all this, so I'm really looking for a "ball-park" figure:

Here are the details:

I am based in the North West (Manchester)
    The lessons will be on Zoom for an hour.
    It will be in hourly slots: 50% English, 50% maths
    The pupil is in year 9, moving up to year 10.
    He is working towards Higher Level maths GCSE and is quite able
    His dad expects lots of homework to be set, so there is quite a bit of planning involved
    He is moving from a PRU to mainstream and has been given a budget from the LEA for extra tuition

And for me:

I have been teaching for 20 years and have a PGCE etc

I was thinking of £25 an hour if funded by the LEA, but £20 an hour if the family want extra lessons from their own budget.

Let me know what you think

2. cwilson1983

cwilson1983 Occasional commenter

At least £30 p/h if not £40 if you would be expected to plan (and mark) additional homework, plus taking your experience into account as well as the fact you're effectively planning for two subjects.

baxterbasics likes this.
  3. baxterbasics

Thanks