1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What Pay point would I start on?

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by Muttley_in_the_Midlands, Jan 21, 2012.

1. Muttley_in_the_Midlands

Muttley_in_the_Midlands New commenter

I am hoping to study on the GTP next year. I understand that I will be paid as an unqualified teacher during that year, presumably at the first point on that scale.
    It has been mentioned that because I have a Masters degree in my subject I may be able to start on a higher pay point than M1 when I qualify. Is this the case? If so, at what point?
    Thanks

2. DM

DM New commenter

Unlikely. What's your subject?

3. modgepodge

modgepodge Occasional commenter

Highly unlikely. Used to happen I believe, but there are so many unemployed teachers out there that priority 1 when you qualify will be getting a job. With so many NQTs out here it's highly unlikely you'll get any higher than M1.

4. Muttley_in_the_Midlands

Muttley_in_the_Midlands New commenter

Well of course it will!
    The reason for my question was because it had been mentioned that any teacher would be unemployable because of having a Masters. A Masters degree means a higher pay point by a couple of points and therefore why would a headteacher pay that when they can get another teacher cheaper.
    That was the point that was made and I wasn't sure whether the pay point differential was really true

5. paulie86

paulie86 New commenter