1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

what paperwork do inspectors want to see from class teachers?

Discussion in 'Ofsted inspections' started by orangeshortbread, Mar 6, 2011.

1. So my first OFSTED is due and I'm not sure what the inspector will want to look at. I am a class teacher so will they want to see my planning file? WIll they look at books - all or just a few chosen at random?

My main concern is what other paperwork they will look at like will they want to see my assessment records or will that be an SLT thing? What else would they expect from class teachers?

2. So my first OFSTED is due and I'm not sure what the inspector will want to look at. I am a class teacher so will they want to see my planning file? WIll they look at books - all or just a few chosen at random?

My main concern is what other paperwork they will look at like will they want to see my assessment records or will that be an SLT thing? What else would they expect from class teachers?

3. When they observe lessons they generally just watch around 20-30 minutes of a lesson. It's useful if you have a plan ready to give them so they have an idea of what has already happened in the lesson and what is yet to come. I would also staple to the plan a little information about the class - a class list with SEN and G&T marked on with pupils' targets. Some teachers like to include a little information on each pupil.

4. Lesson plan essential to put whatever is seen into context. If you identify SEN/G&T etc, helpful to have a seating plan and ensure that differentition is obvious. Inspector will look at books and ask students about their work, targets etc.

5. typo - differentiation - sorry.