1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What other jobs can teachers do?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Ezzie, Jan 12, 2012.

1. Ezzie

Ezzie Occasional commenter

Wasn't sure where to post this but I'm feeling totally **** and disillusioned with the job. Fed up of working all hours trying to do my best yet it's never quite good enough. Sorry, this is sounding like a rant, and I suppose it is but I feel like crying all the time, dread coming in to work, have tried to talk to HT about it but he doesn't like anyone rocking the boat. I know I'm a good teacher in many ways but the goal posts are being continually moved so I feel like it's one step forward and two back. I've been looking at jobs but none I've seen seem to ask for skills of a teacher. So is this it, then? Has anyone escaped and made a new and less demanding/stressful change? Can't bear the thought of doing this until I'm 68! Any thoughts, anyone?

2. Ezzie

Ezzie Occasional commenter

Wasn't sure where to post this but I'm feeling totally **** and disillusioned with the job. Fed up of working all hours trying to do my best yet it's never quite good enough. Sorry, this is sounding like a rant, and I suppose it is but I feel like crying all the time, dread coming in to work, have tried to talk to HT about it but he doesn't like anyone rocking the boat. I know I'm a good teacher in many ways but the goal posts are being continually moved so I feel like it's one step forward and two back. I've been looking at jobs but none I've seen seem to ask for skills of a teacher. So is this it, then? Has anyone escaped and made a new and less demanding/stressful change? Can't bear the thought of doing this until I'm 68! Any thoughts, anyone?