1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What next?? Advice please:)

Discussion in 'Professional development' started by Teacher451, Dec 13, 2011.

1. Hi all,

I've been teaching primary for three years now and I am consistently getting 'outstanding' lesson observations and positive feedback from my head of key stage and my head teacher. The staffing in my school is fairly fixed and I can't see people moving on anytime soon, but I just wonder where I could go next? Could i start applying for head of key stage positions elsewhere, or would it be prudent to gain a few more years experience first? I just don't want to be stood still, i want to keep learning and make the most of myself. My prof dev targets at school are related to my subject leader post (in a small primary so we all have one) but not really my career? Anyway, sorry for the rambling but i would just appreciate some advice!

Vox x

2. Hi all,

I've been teaching primary for three years now and I am consistently getting 'outstanding' lesson observations and positive feedback from my head of key stage and my head teacher. The staffing in my school is fairly fixed and I can't see people moving on anytime soon, but I just wonder where I could go next? Could i start applying for head of key stage positions elsewhere, or would it be prudent to gain a few more years experience first? I just don't want to be stood still, i want to keep learning and make the most of myself. My prof dev targets at school are related to my subject leader post (in a small primary so we all have one) but not really my career? Anyway, sorry for the rambling but i would just appreciate some advice!

Vox x

3. marylamb

marylamb New commenter