1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What might my HT think of this request?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by bassetthound, Jul 24, 2011.

1. bassetthound

bassetthound New commenter

Sorry I can't reply instantly to any of your opinions but for some reason there is a delay when I post - not sure why?
    Anyway I managed to secure a full time perm job which are like hens teeth in my area. I have been working in the school for 3 years but this will be my first year as a perm employee. The only issue is that we are relocating and I intend to stay over in a cheaply rented room (family connection) for 3 night a week and travel up and down the rest of the time. My new house is 2 hours away from school - moving end Setpember.
    Anyway I don't want my HT to think that I won't be committed to the school or regret giivng me the perm job so I don't know how to:
    a) tell him that I'm moving. I know that sounds ridiculous but he's a bit scary and brusque and makes me feel incredibly nervous.
    b) propose that I work 3 long days i.e. Mon, Tues, Wed 8.30 - 6 so that I can leave on a Thurs at 3.30 and Fri at 3
    What do you think of this? Am I being unreasonable? Am I worrying over nothing or if you were HT or SMT what would you think of a teacher who lived so far away from school? Would you care? Would you think oh well they are bound to leave, it's not feasible to travel that distance?
    I am committed to my school but I'm bot so good at fighting my corner.
    Sorry for the ramble.

2. a) why would you need to tell anyone at work about your living arrangements?