1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What makes trainees really stand out on their placements?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Teacher-in-Training42, Oct 1, 2017.

1. Teacher-in-Training42

Teacher-in-Training42 New commenter

My last placement didn't go so well. Well saying that...it had good times and bad times but I really think there were slightly more bad times than good. As a trainee I feel like the staff looked at me as if they knew more - that wasn't straight away though, it was like after the first time they saw me teach , before that I was just assisting.

This time I really want to do well and do something that gets me noticed ..like A LOT in a good way. I want to be amazing a be on the organisations website saying something about me organising a project for the learners that's gone really well or maybe participate in projects and things that are already running and encourage students to join. Whos the best person in the organisation to ask about projects and things...?

Also are there any other things that would get me really noticed in a good way?

Thanks

2. FarSideofParadise

FarSideofParadise Occasional commenter

You say you want to impress, you want to be noticed. Then you go on to say that you'd like to do this by getting on the website? For organising a project?

You want them to notice you for your hard work, your subject knowledge and your teaching. Impress them by showing that you reflect on your teaching practice and you're constantly looking for ways to improve in the classroom.

Projects and enrichment isn't something you should focus on, your teaching needs to be good first.

bonxie, pepper5, Lara mfl 05 and 3 others like this.