1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What makes an outstanding lesson?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by getrichquick, Mar 26, 2011.

1. I have been teaching now for 5 years. Our new head teacher came last year, and all teachers in my school have been observed by him once a half term since. In each of my lessons, I have been graded as "good." I have then taken the feedback and implemented it. I can't seem to be able to get an "outstanding" grading. I have asked the head teacher what he would class as outstanding, but didn't get an answer. What would you personally class as criteria for an outstanding lesson?

2. Ask him to demonstrate one then.

3. I might try that, it could be quite interesting.

4. Make sure you have a permanent contract first! Joking aside I think it is a serious issue that many teachers are being graded and advised by people who would not dream of putting their own advice into practice for all to see.

5. I'm beginning to think that outstanding lessons are a myth!

6. It's all very subjective.