1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What makes an outstanding EY teacher?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by L10, Nov 28, 2011.

1. L10

L10 New commenter

Just as the title suggests, I'm currently graded as good, but how can I become outstanding? Is this too ambitious? I am new to EY as of Sept.
    Thanks

2. Leapyearbaby64

Leapyearbaby64 New commenter

I think you are doing very well to be good after such a short time in EY.

3. sadika

sadika New commenter

We have just had an Ofsted inspection ... overall good and quite honestly I haven't a clue how we could have achieved "outstanding" - we couldn't work any more hours or any harder ... unless we gave up any other life and moved in at weekends maybe ...!!!! It was something to do with not all the children showing "progress" whilst they were observing - there is a thread on here about this subject. Again I don't know what they were looking for in such a short time ... anyway they've been and sanfairyann to them!!!
    Actually on our 2nd Ofsted, quite a few years ago I did get one of only two "outstanding" lessons - for PE! and the inspector said the lesson ticked all her boxes (whatever that meant!) and now our EY children do not do PE as such anymore ...
    Sorry - not much help to you - I'm at the end of my career and quite honestly I've been there, got the t-shirt, jumped through many hoops, and I'll be glad to leave all this inadequate/satisfactory/good/outstanding labels well behind!
    If you want to be "outstanding" read up the Ofsted criteria - but be warned by the time you've sorted that out they will have moved the goal posts! Good luck! and just do you best for the children!