1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What is the point of the home/school reading record?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by SayItLikeItIs, Feb 5, 2020.

1. SayItLikeItIs

SayItLikeItIs Occasional commenter

Dear Primary Teachers

When I worked as a class teacher I religiously made a comment in the home/school reading record book each time I heard a child read. The reading record book was sent home along with the book for the parent to comment also. Its purpose was to have a dialogue between parent and school as to their child's reading progress. It drove me bonkers that certain parents never wrote a comment in the book, although in hind sight there may have been reasons why.

Now that I am a parent, it drives me bonkers that the school write the name of the book in the reading record, send it home with the child's reading book, and never write a comment themselves and, crucially, never respond to our specific requests for more challenging reads. Not even a 'Yes', or 'No, because ...'

For extra information, our child's school does RWI and gets two books from the scheme to read anyway, on which we are not expected to comment. The reading record is in relation to a third book selected from old reading schemes that the school still has. The group has eight children and it is run by a TA. I get that staff are busy, but if they are too busy to do more than write the name of the book in the reading record, then I really don't know what this is all about.