1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What is the best way to teach Maths?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by mrjoemaths, Jul 18, 2019.

Tags:
  1. mrjoemaths

mrjoemaths New commenter

I'm a current Year 2 teacher and am aware that this is a bit of a vague question. I've been working abroad for the past 5 years and have just come back to the UK to teach in the state system again. During my time away, I've read some amazing blogs, articles and listened to some wonderful podcasts about Maths, but I've been unable to access a 'Hub' and have had limited access to directed CPD. I was just wondering if any of you lovely people on here would be able to help me sort in my head what Maths at Primary should look like?

Curriculum structure - I've heard loads of different ideas about this: Using blocks is best to ensure they master one skill before moving on, some schemes use a spiral curriculum approach, each new guest on the Craig Barton podcast seems to have a new way they structure the 'learning journey; of children. What do others in Primary do? I love a bit of the White Rose MTP myself, but have seen this criticised too!