1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What is Sheffield like??

Discussion in 'Primary' started by newmiss, Mar 22, 2011.

1. Hi
    I'm in the process of moving to sheffield with my husbands job and am going to be looking for teaching jobs in primary schools. I'd really apprecaite anyones views on how the job market is in Sheffield, anyones experiences and what the schools are like.
    Thanks in advance for any posts
    Newmiss

2. Also if anyone could recommend any agencies in the city I'd really appreciate it.
    Thanks again
    Newmiss

3. quietlydetermined

quietlydetermined New commenter

SESSA is the name of the council's supply agency. I'm still a PGCE student so I can't tell you whether they are any good at finding you work or not, but the rate of pay they offer is quite good compared to others.

I don't know too much about the job situation in Sheffield, but imagine it is little different from the rest of the country - few and far between!

4. Cervinia

Cervinia Occasional commenter

Grim Northern town. I was in their city centre on Saturday: quiet, recession hit, lifeless place. Good student town, I imagine, with University on hand.

5. Hi
    I love Sheffield, it's a lovely town - it has it's "rough" places though, like every region!
    SESSA and HAYS are the two most common agencies in the region. Also consider doing agency work in Derbyshire and Rotherham councils, they aren't that far away from Sheffield.
    I did my degree and PGCE at Hallam but my placements were near to where I live in Mexborough, Wath and Bolton upon Dearne so I don't know what the schools are like in Sheffield.