1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What is a tier 1 school?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by snitzelvonkrumm, Jun 25, 2018.

1. snitzelvonkrumm

snitzelvonkrumm Occasional commenter

As I am a relative novice to the international school world, can someone provide some clarity to the concept of tier 1 schools? Are they the best paying? The longest established? The most popular? The best governed? The largest? The most innovative?
    Or is it some sort of mythical concept made up by those who perceive their school is more desirable?
    I assume it may be a combination of all of the above?

ruthwill500, rideemcowboy and 2mature like this.
  2. tjh102

tjh102 Occasional commenter

I think you are probably right with your "combination".

In my city, there is a widely-regarded "Big Three". These are always called Tier One, but are all quite different.

A) The oldest international school in the city. Pays very well. Has good accreditation. Very large. Don't know an awful lot about it other than that!

B) The oldest British international school in the city. Pays well, although the school screws you over if it considers you a local hire (i.e. you have been in the country 6 months). Very large, well established, good accreditation.

C) Very large school but only established in the 90s. Considered top flight largely for its UN links. An IB school, pays very well, almost impossible to get a job there (so the rumour goes!).

There are other schools that some say are Tier 1 and others say are Tier 2, but those three are undisputed.

Personally, there is only one of those three I would like to work at. But I stopped being a school snob long ago!