1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What H&S Certificates are needed for DT

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by CreativeADT, Sep 24, 2018.

1. CreativeADT

CreativeADT New commenter

I'm a trained Art teacher and Head of ADT, including DT and catering. I will be recruiting a new DT teacher soon and need to know what the certificates are that will enable the new person to be fully H&S compliant and save the school paying for this as soon as they arrive. Of course they will if necessary, but we'd like to ask for the certificates to be up to date.

Any help would be wonderful.

Thanks

2. aypi

aypi Established commenter

Dont be so tight, pay for the certs

3. CreativeADT

Thank you for the helpful and insightful advice.

4. Ex-teacher

Ex-teacher Occasional commenter

I feel like I'm repeating myself (must be the 3rd time I've written this in the last month).... but here goes....

Get yourself a copy of the B.S. below. That will tell you what is needed. DATA will also be able to help with providing training courses to get necessary certificates

BS 4163:2014 Health and safety for design and technology in educational and similar establishments. Code of practice

5. CreativeADT

Thank you so much I will do that. Sorry you’ve had to do this a few times. I know it’ll make a real difference to me.

Ex-teacher likes this.
  6. tontonjon

tontonjon New commenter

You don't say what area they will be working in, the age group being taught and how much you wil expect them to be doing.

I am a RDTHSC for DATA and this is what I advise.