1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What exp/qualifications do I need for business/econs teaching career?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by alvtes, Nov 13, 2018.

1. alvtes

alvtes New commenter

hey guys,

i am from hong kong.

i have a few years of teaching experience in china (2 years of ESL, 1 year of Business). i have two degrees, a distance bachelors from [This comment/section has been removed for breaching our Community Guidelines/Terms and conditions] bachelors is in business, masters is in econs, both with first class hons grades.

i am thinking of making teaching in international schools my career. however, i wish to teach only in developed countries (for health reasons, i have taught in china and find it too rough healthwise for my liking).

do you think my profile is competitive for teaching jobs in international schools? i will need teachers registration but it is hard to get this in hk and i have been rejected for government teaching career for a few times already and i have given up. my teaching experience is pretty much worthless back in hk since i cannot teach in government schools. i can only teach in private tuition centres and those pay horribly.

i am thinking of doing a full time pgce in the uk but it is too costly. options like pgce(i) notthingham dont seem to open any doors?

i am looking to target well paid japan, macao, singapore, uk, australia international school's econs/business jobs and work at this career for the next 30 years. i love teaching. my 3 years of experience so far are all in the 16-20 age group and i hope to teach this age group a level/ib business/econs.