1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

what does a typical morning look like in your reception class?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by sezzpetts, Nov 11, 2010.

1. I am a supply teacher and I am amazed at how differently schools have interpreted the EYFS. Some reception classes that I go in are very formal and the teacher dictates exactly where the children are to go and what activities they are to complete and others are much more free-range, with children wandering round to where ever they want to.
    I may have the possibilty of a contract in a reception class for a couple of terms and feel uncertain about how child-led or how teacher-led it should be. That is why I am interested to know what your reception class looks like on a typical morning - is it wrong to be formal and structured in a reception class? But if children are going where ever they want to, how do you keep track of what they are or are not doing?

2. I am a supply teacher and I am amazed at how differently schools have interpreted the EYFS. Some reception classes that I go in are very formal and the teacher dictates exactly where the children are to go and what activities they are to complete and others are much more free-range, with children wandering round to where ever they want to.
    I may have the possibilty of a contract in a reception class for a couple of terms and feel uncertain about how child-led or how teacher-led it should be. That is why I am interested to know what your reception class looks like on a typical morning - is it wrong to be formal and structured in a reception class? But if children are going where ever they want to, how do you keep track of what they are or are not doing?