1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What does a TA /LSA do?

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by lilmermy, Aug 17, 2012.

1. Hi all
    I am in the process of completing a study on the diverse roles of TA's and LSA's. I would be extremely grateful of anyone who would be willing to answer the following questions...
    1. What is your job title?
    2.What jobs are you required to complete?
    3. Have you received any training?
    Thankyou for your imput into this study [​IMG]. If you would rather not post but would still like to offer your information you can send me a private message.

2. Hi lilmermy, I've been working as an LSA for three years now. I've done a degree in Education Studies and Early Childhood Education, and pretty much just had to wing it from there! I'd volunteered a lot in the school where I did my placements and observations to do with my course, so I did at least know some of the staff and the Head.

In terms of training, I've done Paediatric First Aid and Level 2 Food Hygiene (because I am also the co-ordinator of the after school club, and it's a requirement for food prep). I've had additional training on using Epipens, teaching music and music notation, P4C (philosophy for children), play therapy and the usual plethora of inset related stuff. I haven't had anything which teaches you how to 'be' an LSA, if that was what you were getting at.

I'm in year 1 currently, but have also done Foundation Stage.