1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What does a 'long' observation look like in your Reception class?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by notime, Nov 13, 2011.

1. I am new to reception and have been struggling with fitting in the 'long observations' which are recommended for the children. I managed to get plenty of snap shot stick note observations and photo's but find fitting in the longer ones harder. I was aiming for 2 per term for each child. But wondered how long you spend on each obs and is it on child initiated or a adult led activity? Does anyone know of any examples of completed observations, I was looking in EYFS document but can't seem to find any!
    Thanks

2. We have always said a five or six minute observation writing down everything they say and do is a good long observation but you need to find a time when they are fully involved in an activity, preferably child initiated. From that you should be able to pull out information around at least four of the six areas. However you will probably find that lots of people do it differently. Obviously if you have concerns about the child then you may do more/longer obs.

3. Leapyearbaby64

Leapyearbaby64 New commenter

We do max 10 mins as a tracker, as above, noting what they do and say. Then it's x-ref to all the specific ELGs. We do 1 per term per child. Extras for EAL and SEN children and anyone else that we have little concerns about in specific areas.

4. inky

inky Lead commenter

If you
    'ob' two children in conversation, you can use it for both of them. Doesn't always work but what a blinder when it does!