1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What % do you need to pass AQA Science A GCSE?

Discussion in 'Science' started by anon413, Sep 24, 2007.

1. I am a mature student studying for a single AQA Science A GCSE at night school.
    I am doing this alongside my 2nd year degree, during the day; so I can apply for teaching training next year.
    We have the option of entering for the higher tier A*-D grades or the Foundation Tier C-F.
    Is it better to enter for the higher tier or the lower tier? I have been told by a fellow student that it is better to enter for the higher tier if I need a C grade because the percentage of answers I would need to be correct is lower overall than the foundation paper.
    Is this correct?

2. I am a mature student studying for a single AQA Science A GCSE at night school.
    I am doing this alongside my 2nd year degree, during the day; so I can apply for teaching training next year.
    We have the option of entering for the higher tier A*-D grades or the Foundation Tier C-F.
    Is it better to enter for the higher tier or the lower tier? I have been told by a fellow student that it is better to enter for the higher tier if I need a C grade because the percentage of answers I would need to be correct is lower overall than the foundation paper.
    Is this correct?

3. No. You are more likely to gain a C grade in the foundation paper than in the higher paper unless you are a surefire A or B candidate. Percentage may be lower for the higher paper but there are more low demand questions in the foundation paper. Our borderline C grade students will get a C in foundation but sometimes parents insist on entering higher and they often come out with D grades.