1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What do I need to teach in a primary school?

Discussion in 'Welcome lounge and forum help' started by Mroneill13, Feb 28, 2016.

1. Mroneill13

Mroneill13 New commenter

I am a Secondary school teacher with a PGCE in IT and secondary school teaching, been teaching 6 years. I would like to start teaching in a primary school and was looking to find out what I would need to do to make this happen e.g. a bridging course? Any information online seems to be a bit dated.

Thanks in advance.

2. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter

The last two teachers we have recruited have come straight from secondary with no experience past year 6/7 transition. They were enthusiastic, turned up for the interview and had a pulse-which is pretty much more than we currently expect !

Mroneill13 likes this.
  3. Mroneill13

Mroneill13 New commenter

Thanks for the reply. SO no out and out qualification needed?

4. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter

No, just enthusiasm!