1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What can you do about ranters?

Discussion in 'Heads of department' started by quokka2011, Dec 6, 2011.

1. quokka2011

quokka2011 New commenter

A member of my team rants and moans about everything that is wrong with our school, teaching, life, world... you name it, it gets ranted about. All this person does is rant and complain and it is having a negative effect on everyone around them. They take no responsibility for their own actions and cannot seem to see how things could be different if they did. I'm new to my role as HoD but not new to the school or the team. Before my promotion I would just put up with it or walk away but now I really feel like something has to be said. I just don't know how to go about it!
    Any advice would be appreciated!

2. quokka2011

quokka2011 New commenter

A member of my team rants and moans about everything that is wrong with our school, teaching, life, world... you name it, it gets ranted about. All this person does is rant and complain and it is having a negative effect on everyone around them. They take no responsibility for their own actions and cannot seem to see how things could be different if they did. I'm new to my role as HoD but not new to the school or the team. Before my promotion I would just put up with it or walk away but now I really feel like something has to be said. I just don't know how to go about it!
    Any advice would be appreciated!

3. Short sharp shock treatment? You don't need to be harsh, but "that's enough now, we need to get to some positive ideas"

4. Humour? Good grief, you're being a right Job's comforter aren't you? Are you alright today?