1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

What can teachers do to their classrooms?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by atlantadonbavand, Oct 27, 2019.

1. atlantadonbavand

atlantadonbavand New commenter

Hi,
    I am a trainee teacher and was just wondering what teachers can and can not do to their classrooms please.
    Are teachers able to decorate their classroom anyway they like such as change the colour of the walls (still keeping it neutral tones) and decorate the classroom door or is their a limit to what they can do?

Thanks

2. thecagedbird

thecagedbird New commenter

Depends on each school. Some will have very specific policies about what you have to do. Some will be a lot more flexible.

Pomza and Lara mfl 05 like this.
  3. Over_the_hill

Over_the_hill Star commenter

Up to each school. Some will specify the display content, colours of the backing paper and border roll. There is a school in Grays I visited where every classroom in each year group has to be absolutely identical and are inspected regularly.

We just have a few sensible non-negotiables and the rest is up to us.

Lara mfl 05 likes this.
  4. sunshineneeded

sunshineneeded Lead commenter

As others have said, it depends totally on individual schools … but, with the way budgets are now, if you offered to come in during the holidays and re-decorate your classroom in neutral tones - I think many would jump at it!

Lara mfl 05 likes this.
  5. DexterDexter

DexterDexter Occasional commenter

Slow down! You’re not thinking of painting and decorating are you? Eek! Who would pay for the paint/brushes etc?

I agree with the above- ask what the school does as each one is different.